Skip to content

The French Know What’s Best

January 19, 2011

Back in the day of Baker’s Square, I loved ordering the French Silk Pie.  I don’t usually care for pie, but this one was chocolate, light enough so I could eat the whole thing, and even came with whipped cream.  What’s not to like?  A few days ago I had a total flop when I made Elana’s Brownies- I forgot the agave.  Not only did my error withhold sugar from the brownies, it denied them their glue.  My usually-wonderful walnut and chocolate chip concoction came out of the oven in crumbs.   To resurrect my failure, the ruins went into the food processor with melted butter and white sugar, processed to a very fine crumb then pressed into a pie pan and baked.  Then I aded the most wonderful filling:

French Silk Chocolate Pie

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 eggs

Cream butter and sugar. Blend in cocoa and vanilla. Beating at high speed, add one egg and beat until thoroughly incorporated. Repeat with each remaining egg. Keep whipping until fluffy. Spread in cooked pie shell of choice and keep refrigerated

From → Food

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

