Skip to content

What is a Gap year?

June 25, 2010

To start off this blog, I thought it would be a good idea to explain the definition of a gap year.  Usually taken between high school and college, a gap year is when a student takes a year off, typically to accomplish a specific activity before moving on to a higher level of education.  This may involve international travel, volunteering, interning, learning a specific skill or preparing for an audition.

Being a violist and lover of all things learning, a gap year was the clear winner when trying to decide whether to take a hard load of classes my senior year or to get into a great conservatory.  It has allowed me to graduate from high school having taken the advanced classes that I wished, and prepare for my auditions without losing my mind…so far.

My hope for this blog is to keep an account of the life lessons, daily challenges and ultimate rewards of taking a gap year.  Please join me in taking a journey over the next year to learn more about life, housekeeping, music and college acceptance.

From → Gap Year Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

